Passion, Pain, and Patrick Swayze

by Mel

So, what did you do this weekend? Me? (In my mind, you asked me about my weekend, ok? Work with me here.)

This weekend, I finally got the tattoo I have been waiting to get for over 2 years, but haven’t quite been able to make it work. The kids are always needing things…like food, and water, and electricity…..can you believe that? So selfish. 🙂 So body art just was never at the top of the priority list. But…it was for my birthday…so I was finally able to make it happen.

I decided to get it right after my step dad died. It was an experience that derailed my way of looking at a lot of things. I knew I wanted a tattoo to represent that. It needed to remind me that I am not promised tomorrow, so I need to make today what I want it to be. It needed to be about finding out who I am and who I want to be. It needed to be a reminder to be passionate about something. I decided the best way to represent all of these things was in that one word. Passion. That is why I chose a heart on fire. I spent forever looking for the perfect image. The one I ended up with is exactly what I had in mind, and more. A few little tweaks, and it was like it had been made just for me.

People who have never gotten a tattoo always ask about the pain involved. Well, I think the pain level is pretty tolerable. In fact, the most painful thing about the whole experience was the fact that they had chosen to play “She’s Like the Wind” by Patrick Swayze on a loop in the tattoo shop. I mean, seriously? Who thought Patrick Swayze singing was a good idea? But I was told it would get funnier each time through, and it was true. He certainly put his whole dirty dancing, little heart into it. Poor thing.

So, a very big thank you to Jenn, at Outer Limits. She is awesome. She’s like the wind, through my tree……. (holy crap, that song sucks.)

TA DA!!!

And for a nice brain cleansing after being subjected to “She’s Like the Wind”, I offer another, much better song that was also a part of my tattoo soundtrack. Song, itself starts at 1:30.

